Anna Jonas Award

JonasAwardBannerAnna Jonas (1881-1974) was a remarkable geologist who made major contributions towards understanding the geology of Virginia in the early and middle 20th century.

The Anna Jonas Award is given on occasion, by the Virginia Geological Field Conference, to a deserving geologist, who like Anna Jonas has made significant and lasting contributions to the geological understanding of the Virginia Commonwealth.


2007- William S. Henika

2009- W. Cullen Sherwood

2012- Eugene K. Rader

2013- Edgar W. Spencer

2015- C. Rick Berquist

2016- Gerald H. Johnson

2018- Gerald Wilkes

2019- Tom Gathright

2022- David Spears